5 comments on “Imagination and the Unlimited Possibilities

  1. Thanks for sharing!

    I’m also a futuristic person. I spend a lot of time visualizing myself in my “ideal” future and I do get motivated and energized by that.

    I remember one time when I was in high school, I used to work for a local House of Science, it was like a science small museum in my hometown. One day there was a kid that was very impatient, he was loud, and he wasn’t paying attention. He was bothering other clientes since he didn’t want to stay with the group, so to help my co-workers and the clients, I asked his mom if I could take care of him for a while. I told him “hey do you want to see something amazing?” I took him with me to show him my experiment, it was something done with cylinders, cones, and spheres, it’s really difficult to explain in words but the point is that is a really cool experiment that made people thing that one of my objects was traveling against the laws of gravity. I took the device and asked the kid what do you think will happen if I put this object in this slide? Any person in the world will answer it goes down, and then will be amazed by my object going up. This kid answer after some minutes thinking was “it’s going up” I couldn’t believe that he knew what was going to happen, when I asked him how in the world do you know that? His response was “because you told me I was going to see something amazing, going down will be too normal”

    How does this story relates to your post? Well, I also agree that we need to be more like children that don’t overcomplicate things, we need to create innovative ways to improve our higher education system, maybe we have the ideas to improve and think outside the box regarding assessment, but we are thinking too much like adults and don’t dare to take the risks of implementing them.

    Like

  2. I couldn’t agree more that as we grow older the world saps our imagination out – ‘reality sets in’ as you described it. I feel like my role as a teacher would be to nurture the children in my students — not stifle them with a bunch of threats as was done to be but encourage them to think out of the box, stay calm and positive and help them discover the range of possibilities available to them. Having said that, I am still a child in the world of teaching, and maybe when I actually stand in front of a bunch of bored undergrads that couldn’t care less, reality will set in for me as well?

    Like

  3. I relate to a lot of what you are saying. For me, I find myself wondering if I am looking too much towards the future and not focusing enough on the present. There is a Star Wars Yoda quote talking about one of the main characters: “All his life has he looked away…to the future, to the horizon. Never his mind on where he was. . . what he was doing.” I think that sometimes describes me. My mind isn’t always focused on what I am doing right now. I think it’s hard, because we have so much stress and uncertainty in our lives right now. The present and the future become a balancing act as does imagination and reality. We need all of these elements in our lives, but we can’t allow for one to take over the other. I think it’s because we can’t balance all of these that we lose so much.

    Like

Leave a comment